News Release 3/24/14

Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) announces 2014 award recipients

Alexandria, Va. (March 24, 2014) — The Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) will present its top awards for 2014 to two members of Congress including the chairman, Senate Veterans' Affairs Committee, two organizations and a congressional staff member for their support of the military community. The ceremony will be held April 8, on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. 

Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) and Rep. Tim Walz (D-Minn.) will receive the Col. Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award. The MOAA Distinguished Service Award will go to Safeway Inc. and Mr. Lee R. Anderson, Sr., Chairman of the Board, APi Group, Inc. Professional congressional staff memberMr. Steve Robertson will receive the Col. Paul W. Arcari Meritorious Service Award.  

MOAA is the nation’s largest and most influential association of active duty, National Guard, Reserve, retired, and former military officers and their families and survivors. The association annually recognizes individuals or organizations that strongly support servicemembers and their families.  

The Col. Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award will be given to Sanders and Walz for their leadership in a range of initiatives across the entire uniformed service community. Marix founded MOAA in 1929 and served as the association’s first president until 1944. 

Safeway Inc. and Anderson will each receive MOAA’s Distinguished Service Award that honors individuals or organizations that are not members of Congress but have been consistently strong supporters of national defense and the uniformed services community. 

Robertson, staff director, Senate Veterans Affairs Committee, will be recognized with MOAA’s Col. Paul W. Arcari Meritorious Service Award for his efforts in support of a variety of legislation to help servicemembers and military spouses and survivors. Arcari was MOAA’s director of Government Relations for 14 years, retiring in 2002.  

“We are privileged to recognize great Americans who support a strong national defense and can always be counted as friends of those in uniform,” Vice Adm. Norb Ryan Jr., president of MOAA, said. 

MOAA has awarded the Marix and Distinguished Service awards since 1997. The congressional staff member award began in 2000. For more information about MOAA, please visit