News Release 5/15/14

MOAA President Receives Miltiary Hero Award at PenFed Foundation Gala

Retired Navy Vice Adm. Norb Ryan Jr., president and CEO of the Military Officers Association of America (MOAA), received the Military Hero Award from the Pentagon Federal Credit Union Foundation (PenFed Foundation) at its 10th Annual Night of Heroes Gala, "Welcome Home: Supporting Warriors in Transition." The event, held Wednesday, May 14, at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C., honored those who have demonstrated leadership in providing support and services to our returning servicemembers and veterans and their families.  

“Admiral Ryan and his team at MOAA have persistently worked on the legislative front to help ensure our military coming back from war are taken care of,” said Jane Whitfield, president and CEO of the PenFed Foundation. “Having shown immense dedication to caring for our nation’s veterans over the years, Admiral Ryan truly deserves the Military Hero Award, and we are honored to present it to him.” - See more at: 

The PenFed Foundation described Ryan as a tireless advocate for veterans and their families and a regular on Capitol Hill, helping to strengthen VA services and support for former members of the armed forces, including endorsing a bill that would allow quick payment of VA Dependency and Indemnity Compensation to surviving spouses for up to six months and fighting to ensure VA services for veterans and their families are not disrupted, even during a government shutdown.  

“I am humbled by the PenFed Foundation’s Military Hero Award,” Ryan said. “It is a privilege of a lifetime to be able to provide needed support to our dedicated and selfless personnel and their families. I am honored to receive this recognition on behalf of the entire MOAA team from PenFed, known for its own outstanding work with the veteran population.” 

Col. Gregory Gadson, USA, garrison commander of Fort Belvoir, Va., presented the Military Hero Award to Ryan. Lee Woodruff, author and founder of the Bob Woodruff Foundation, served as the emcee. 

The Honorable Deborah Lee James, secretary of the Air Force, received the American Hero Award; Mary Scott, board of governors chair, and Joyce Wessel Raezer, executive director, National Military Family Association, received the Community Hero Award; and Visa received the Corporate Hero Award.