News Release 2/4/13

MOAA Selects 2013 Award Recipients

Alexandria, Va. (Feb. 4, 2013) — The Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) will present its top awards for 2013 to five members of Congress, two organizations, and two congressional staff members for their support of the military community. The ceremony will be held April 16 on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C.

Sens. Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Rep. Susan Davis (D-Calif.) will receive the Col. Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award. The MOAA Distinguished Service Award will go to Caterpillar Inc., and Homes for Our Troops. Professional congressional staff members John Chapla and Kate Mevis will receive the Col. Paul W. Arcari Meritorious Service Award.

MOAA is the nation’s largest and most influential association of active duty, National Guard, Reserve, retired, and former military officers and their families and survivors. The association annually recognizes individuals or organizations that strongly support servicemembers and their families.

The Col. Arthur T. Marix Congressional Leadership Award will be given to Murray and Davis for their leadership in a range of initiatives to improve employment opportunities for transitioning servicemembers. In addition, Reed, McCaskill, and Rubio will be recognized with this award for championing joint TRICARE pharmacy legislation affecting roughly 9 million TRICARE beneficiaries. Marix founded MOAA in 1929 and served as the association’s first president until 1944.

Caterpillar Inc. and Homes for Our Troops will each receive MOAA’s Distinguished Service Award that honors individuals or organizations that are not members of Congress but have been consistently strong supporters of national defense and the uniformed services community.

Chapla, majority staff director, House Armed Services Personnel Subcommittee, and Mevis, legislative assistant to Reed, will be recognized with MOAA’s Col. Paul W. Arcari Meritorious Service Award for their efforts in support of a variety of legislation to help servicemembers and military spouses and survivors. Arcari was MOAA’s director of Government Relations for 14 years, retiring in 2002.

“We are privileged to recognize great Americans who support a strong national defense and can always be counted as friends of those in uniform,” Vice Adm. Norb Ryan Jr., president of MOAA, said.

MOAA has awarded the Marix and Distinguished Service awards since 1997. The congressional staff member award began in 2000. For more information about MOAA, please visit